Skip to content

The best alpine skis for 2026

The first thing to know about this shelf is that almost nothing on it is sold as a bare ski. Every listing in the corpus arrives with its binding mounted — « inkl. Bindung RS9 SLR », « + M 10 GW », « + PRW 11 GW » — and the binding is half of what you are paying for. That changes how the shelf reads: a ski at 250 € with an RS9 and a ski at 465 € with a PRW 11 are not the same purchase twice, they are two different systems. The length comes next, and it is the only figure here that has a wrong answer. The corpus shows 140, 149, 150, 158, 160, 165, 167 and 170 cm on ordinary all-mountain and carving skis, and a length is chosen against a body, not against a taste: a ski too long will not come round at the end of a turn, and one too short will not hold at speed. The binding brings its own two numbers, and both are in the titles. Its DIN range — Z 2–7.5 on a junior, Z 3–10 on an adult carver, 11 or 13 on a freeride plate — sets the release, and it must bracket the skier rather than merely include them. Its brake width, 85, 90, 100 or 110 mm, must match the waist of the ski it sits on, which is why a binding bought separately is a measurement and not a guess. What the listings say least well is the use: « On-Piste-Rocker », « Carvingski », « Pistenski », « All-Mountain » and « Performance » all appear, and they are marketing words with real meanings behind them that no listing defines. We compare lengths, waist width, dimensions, radius, profile, binding included, weight and level.

Every published figure on this shelf, in one table

  1. Fischer RC Fire SLR 170 cm

    170 cm, 118-73-101, radius 15.5 m at 165 cm, with RS9 SLR Z 2.5–9

    The most completely specified ski on the shelf: three widths, a radius at a named length, a stated ability band and a binding with its DIN range printed.

    Best for: A beginner to intermediate skier staying on piste, who wants the numbers printed

    ≈ €250

  2. Airtracks Savage Pro Wide 172 cm

    172 cm, 87 mm underfoot, tip rocker, with Tyrolia PR 11 GW

    An 87 mm all-mountain ski that states its waist in prose, admits it forgives mistakes, and tells you to have the binding fitted by a workshop.

    Best for: An intermediate skier who wants one ski for piste and the snow beside it

    ≈ €479

  3. ATOMIC Redster J2 150

    150 cm junior race ski, stated for the junior level

    A 150 cm junior race ski, sold on a stated ability level rather than on a sidecut, and the only child’s ski on this shelf.

    Best for: A child already racing, whose parents know the length they need

    ≈ €275

  4. Elan Explore 80 set, 168 cm

    168 cm all-mountain set with EL 10.0 GW Shift bindings, level stated as medium

    A complete ski-and-binding set sold on an ability level and a style word, with no sidecut, no radius and no waist width published.

    Best for: A skier who already knows this model and is buying on price

    ≈ €300

  5. Rossignol Arcade 78° Xpress

    All-mountain ski with Xpress bindings, level stated as beginner

    The only ski on the shelf with an offer in all six Amazon markets, sold on an ability level and a style word rather than on a dimension.

    Best for: A first pair for somebody buying outside Germany, who will confirm the length with the seller

    ≈ $440 / £328 / €376

  6. HEAD e.Real Joy set, 158 cm

    158 cm women’s set with Joy 9 GW SLR, brake 85 mm

    A women’s set at 158 cm whose only published specification is the brake width of the binding — which is, at least, the figure a replacement would need.

    Best for: A skier replacing a known pair, who wants the set mounted and ready

    ≈ €341

  7. Blizzard Anomaly 84 R, 176 cm

    176 cm, 124.5-84-107.5, radius 15.5 m at 176 cm, with TPC 10 Demo Z3–10

    The only ski here that publishes its full sidecut and its radius at the length being sold, with a demo binding whose DIN range is printed.

    Best for: An experienced skier who wants one ski for piste and off it, and wants the numbers

    ≈ £457 / €511

This category at a glance

  • Most affordable here: Fischer FISKI24_RCFIRE_170BD2, at 250 €.
  • Highest Binding included in this category: Airtracks 4251917927010 (Tyrolia PR 11 GW; DIN range not published).
  • Highest Lengths in this category: Blizzard 8050032115755 (176 cm, as listed).

Every model compared

Only the specifications at least four models out of five state. A column that is more empty than full compares nothing.

ModelPriceAmazon referenceBinding includedDimensionsLengths
Fischer FISKI24_RCFIRE_170BD2250 €B0CQKC5XG3 (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)Fischer RS9 SLR, GripWalk, DIN Z 2.5–9118-73-101 mm170 cm (this listing); other lengths sold separately
ATOMIC AA0030404275 €B0FXMWPXJ1 (one reference across 6 Amazon marketplaces)The listing does not state itNot published150 cm, as listed
Elan 3838855788104300 €B0CKBXRRR8 (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)EL 10.0 GW Shift, as named in the title; DIN range not publishedNot published168 cm, as listed
HEAD 31573401341 €B0DG9DHCR6 (one reference across 6 Amazon marketplaces)Joy 9 GW SLR, brake 85 mm, GripWalkNot published158 cm, as listed
Rossignol 41011440 €B0FGQSGZC3 (one reference across 6 Amazon marketplaces)Xpress, as named in the title; DIN range not publishedNot publishedThe listing does not state it
Blizzard 8050032115755457 €B0FRN1G56T (one reference across 6 Amazon marketplaces)TPC 10 Demo, DIN Z3–10124.5-84-107.5 mm at 176 cm176 cm, as listed
Airtracks 4251917927010479 €B0DQYPPWZN (one reference across 4 Amazon marketplaces)Tyrolia PR 11 GW; DIN range not publishedTip and tail widths not published172 cm and 182 cm; this listing is 172 cm

What each budget buys here

Lower range

250 – 275 €

2 models

ATOMIC AA0030404

Mid range

300 – 341 €

2 models

HEAD 31573401

Upper range

440 – 479 €

3 models

Blizzard 8050032115755

Guides covering this category

Sources and method

Specifications: manufacturer sheets and Amazon product pages. Prices and availability: Keepa. No product on this site has been physically tested.

Most recent revision in this category: September 28, 2026.

How we assess products

The live figure beside a product went and asked the shop for it the moment this page opened; any amount written into the text has not moved since the sentence was drafted, and it is the first of the two that counts.